Certifications & Qualifications

CNet Training is an Approved Pearson BTEC Centre

Pearson is the world’s largest learning company, with more than 22,500 employees operating in 70 countries. Being an Approved Pearson BTEC centre allows CNet’s team of academic professionals to design programs that lead to professional qualifications. Each program is delivered by CNet’s qualified Instructors from Education Centres, via remote attendance utilising Smart Rooms, or on-site at client premises worldwide.

CNet has been an Approved Pearson BTEC Centre for over 20 years, this is a great achievement considering the strict criteria that must be adhered to and the annual verification process required to allow qualifications to continue to be awarded. This continuous approval means CNet customers can be reassured that CNet conforms to the highest standards from a trusted and global education body.

Certification & Re-certification

Certifications are unique as they show a commitment to life-long learning, they offer the perfect portal to ensure knowledge and skills remain current and up-to-date. Each certification gained from CNet Training requires re-certifying EVERY THREE YEARS. We have designed a simple online system that allows re-certification to be undertaken quickly and easily.


Qualifications are valid for life. They differ from certifications in that they are controlled by international educational bodies and are therefore recognised across the world (see the qualifications equivalence table). Whilst there are differing qualifications across many levels within the data centre and network infrastructure industries, they are all referenced to the International Qualification Framework, so a recognised qualification brings several additional benefits compared to courses that only offer certifications. These include:

Pearson BTEC Professional Qualifications

BTECs offer a practical approach to learning, which is structured around real-life situations and can include both theoretical and practical learning. Learners undertake a number of units to allow them to demonstrate their skill and knowledge. They are available in varying levels – from the entry level Award, advancing to a Certificate and the highest being a Diploma. Learners can build their own qualification portfolio over time to grow in line with their careers. BTECs are also quite flexible in terms of the time allowed to complete them and at the end of the learning an examination is undertaken to confirm the level of knowledge achieved. BTECs can only be designed by authorised and approved professional training providers and this allows the learning to reflect the actual needs of the industry as it changes. Training providers have to go through a rigorous process of approval by Pearson – the BTEC examination board – and are the subject of continuous external verification. All of CNet Training’s programs award BTECs or units towards a BTEC qualification. We also take part in a mandatory renewal process to ensure that all of the qualifications continue to be relevant and useful. Visit the BTEC website for further information:

Evidencing Continuing Professional Development (CPD)

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) is defined as “a commitment to structured skills enhancement and personal or professional competence”. It’s a way of monitoring an individual’s own learning hours associated to a particular industry and evidences that they have undertaken the learning. Anyone who is a member of a professional body or institution is usually expected to complete a prescribed minimum of CPD hours as a requirement of individual membership (this is mostly aligned to professions like healthcare etc). It is not essential for the Digital Infrastructure industry but is perceived as a good thing to have as it demonstrates commitment to professional development.

All of CNet’s education programs’ learning hours are listed as part of the detail attached to the Digital Badges that are issued to those who successfully complete a program from The Global Digital Infrastructure Education Framework. Learners can use this information as evidence of their individual learning hours if they maintain a CPD record.